top of page
  • Writer's pictureArden

Studio Magic: 5 Tips for a Hot Hip-Hop Record

Here are some tips that I use personally for my at-home studio.


1. Add in different plug-ins. From EQ, DeEsser, Pitch correction, and other vocal plug-ins, this will make a difference. I am still learning everyday to use plug-ins, but once you work with them, you can create a sound that is unique to you. Play around with plug-ins.

2. Study the greats. I have always been into rap and r&b, so I tend to listen to that type of music. Drake is a great example, as he is one of my idols as well. He puts an emphasis on his vocals, which is one of the reasons why he stands out. The more you listen, the more you take in. Take notes too.

3. Don't be afraid to be different. That's what it's all about right? Being unique is what catches the eyes and ears. So next time you go into the studio and record, try something that you normally wouldn't. This helps grow your character and your music drastically.

4. Take advice. Have others step in to the studio with you and listen to your work. It's always nice to have other ears on your product before putting it out. I tend to work with local producers and have them give me tips on what I can improve on.

5. Keep up with trends, but don't get lost in them. Artists tend to take others work and duplicate it. Don't do that. It makes you look bad and sets you back. Why would you want to put out unoriginal music? Be unique, be you.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page